Wednesday, 5 June 2019

Permissions revisited

Android 6.0 (Marshmallow) introduced a new permissions model (see here for some information). When you run the application on Android 6.0 or later, permissions are granted by the user while the app is running. You are now able to deny particular permissions, and also revoke already granted permissions.
Please note that in case permissions are not granted or revoked, the app might not work correctly and is limited in functionality.
Starting with Photoxor Toolkit June 2019 release 19-06 required permissions are requested closer to when they are needed. Hopefully this provides a better understanding for our users why certain permissions are needed.
  • For example, when you press the Torch button for the first time, the camera permission ('to take pictures and record video') will be requested (is needed to switch on the camera LED flashlight).
  • The camera permission is also required when you use the camera based lightmeter function. Here an image is captured in temporary memory, the exposure (EXIF) characteristics analysed, and then the image is shown as a small thumbnail on your screen. Once the App is closed, this image is no longer available as temporary memory is released.
  • Or when you start location tracking the first time, the permission to access the current location will be requested.
  • The audio recording permission is requested when you press the microphone button the first time during location tracking.
Please note, when you use the Widget without required permissions granted as yet, a message will be shown. In this case please open the App, go to the related function (i.e. Torch or Tracking), and grant the permissions.

How to change permissions

In your device settings you are always able to change permissions granted to an App.
To do this, 
  • within Settings go to the list of your installed Apps and find Photoxor Toolkit,
  • go to 'Permissions', and
  • the list of permissions is shown:
  • Grant or revoke permissions.
Please note that without granting these four permissions, some of the Photoxor Toolkit features will not work. We try to gracefully alert you where possible. These permissions are used as outlined below.

Photoxor Toolkit uses:

CAMERA

Also called 'to take pictures and record video'.
This permission is used to:

  • Use the flash LED as a torch light
  • Take pictures during location tracking
  • Camera-based lightmeter

MICROPHONE

This permission is used to:

  • Audio recording during location tracking

STORAGE

Also called 'access photos, media and files'.
This permission is used to:

  • Import / export and storage of configurations (for cameras, lenses, flashes, filters, ...)
  • Save audio recordings and photos taken during tracking to local storage
  • Import / export tracking paths

LOCATION

This permission is used to:

  • Location tracking
  • Show current location on map
  • 'Current' location for Ephemeris calculation
  • Distance calculation for Places
  • Advertisement

No comments:

Post a comment